Disable or deactivate a user in AAD

Disable or deactivate a user in AAD

How to disable or deactivate a user in the Azure Active Directory portal

This article applies to you if you manage BrandQuantum users in the BQIgnite Admin Platform via an Azure Active Directory group. 

Use this when: 
  1. A user no longer requires access to a BrandQuantum product
  2. A user leaves the organization
If you make use of an Azure Active Directory Group to manage your BQIgnite platform users you are already familiar with how to add users to your Active Directory Group or Groups. When a user no longer requires access to BQIgnite (no longer requires a license) OR when a user leaves the organization, the BQIgnite platform will require an instruction to disable / deactivate the user in the BQIgnite platform. The instruction to disable / deactivate will be picked up by the platform during the next synchronization. 

Notes
Important: Please do not remove the user from the AAD Group before performing a sync, since the instruction to disable will then not be picked up by the BQIgnite platform. First disable your user in AAD  and ensure the sync has run. Once the user has been disabled, you can safely remove the user account from the AAD Group (if you wish to do so). If you have already disabled the user in your AAD Group, you can manually execute the Azure Active Directory Sync instead of waiting for the next sync cycle. 

Step 1: Go to Microsoft 365 admin center

Step 2: Expand the Users list and click on the Active users option

Expand the Users list and click on the Active users option

Step 3: Click on the user you would like to disable

Step 4: Click the Block sign-in button

Click on the user you would like to disable

Step 5: Check the Block this user from signing in

Check the Block this user from signing in

Step 6: Click Save changes

Notes
Note: If you have already removed the user from your AAD Group, prior to disabling their access please manually deactvate the user in the platform.